This is a general access denied error.  Most people seem to recommend to check and reset the permissions on the follow keys.

Give “NT ServiceTrustedInstaller” RW access to HKLMsoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionComponent Based Servicing and subkeys

The easiet way to check the permissions is with accesschk.exe from sysinternals. 
accesschk.exe -s -n “nt servicetrustedinstaller” -k “hklmsoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionComponent Based Servicing”>accesskchk.txt (Lists all keys without access, should on a good box have no results)

 

accesschk.exe -s  “nt servicetrustedinstaller” -k “hklmsoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionComponent Based Servicing”>accesskchk.txt (Lists all keys Acct has access to, very long list)

Also the permissions on the Windows directory needs to be check for correctness.  On all the computers, I have this error appear on, I have not had checking any of these keys fix the problem.  The only way I have been able to fix this error was to use attrib /s /d -h c: from Windows PE.  I have not been able to reverse this fix to reproduce the problem, but it worked, so I’m not going to complain too much about it. 

 

**Update 2011.06.07

I’ve been fixing this error lately, by unhiding the Windows directory.  Not really sure why unhiding the directory works, since I cannot reproduce this error with a hidden directory on any of my Windows 7 virtual machines. 

