This unit came into the store for a virus removal with the note, will not connect to internet; of course, I figured the internet connection problem would be something simple to fix like usual.  Surprisingly, it turned into an interesting problem to solve; I just had to solve it before anyone else go to it and reloaded Windows because they don’t know how to deal with it otherwise.  

Looking through Event viewer I kept seeing “Access denied” errors for DHCP, and “Network Location Awareness service terminated with service-specific error %%-1073741288.”  I figured fixing the DHCP Access denied error would fix the Network location Awareness error too.  After following KB943996 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/943996 ) to fix the access denied error and to fix the Diagnositc Policy,  I rebooted to the exact same issue.  After poking around the registry verifying permissions and settings, I finally just put it on some automated scans, so I could work on other things.   

After the scans came back clean, and I checked for boot sector infections – none where found.  I looked back at the event viewer.  The only real error now was the Network Location Awareness service error listed above.  Researching on the internet found very few answers beside a repair install.  Digging through the Microsoft forums, I found a man who offered a simple fix, which seemed to help most people.  It is basically adding the “Localservice” user and “NetworkService” user to the adminstrators group.  WIth nothing to lose, I tried it out and it worked flawlessly.  

The commands are (from an administrator command prompt):

net localgroup administrators localservice /add
net localgroup administrators networkservice /add

 

Reboot and done. 

 

